“We stand up for the rights of those of a Christian belief, those of other beliefs and those with no belief. That is a key issue for us in Parliament and in the APPG.”

Jim Shannon MP

Explore what is being said and done on International Freedom of Religion or Belief in Parliament: each heading will take you to relevant material, with further specific links to the Parliamentary website.

If you want to discover what any particular Parliamentarian has said and done on this issue since the website was set up in 2014, then use the search facility at the top right of each website page.

“I pay tribute to the all-party parliamentary group for international freedom of religion or belief. Their tireless work and commitment to religious freedoms is not just important, but assists the Government in making their case. Every time I am abroad, as a Foreign and Commonwealth Office Minister, I can make the point that this is a big priority for Parliament, so this work is of considerable diplomatic importance.”

Mark Field MP, Minister for Asia and the Pacific, 1 March 2018


Foreign Office Questions: persecution of Christians overseas

14 May: Commons Chamber, Oral Answers to Questions, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Persecution of Christians …

APPG statement on interim report on FCO support for persecuted Christians

The APPG for International Freedom of Religion or Belief welcomes the Bishop of Truro’s interim report on Foreign …

House of Lords Oral Question on Fulani militia attacks in Nigeria

Baroness Cox To ask Her Majesty’s Government what is their assessment of recent developments in Nigeria, with …

Lord Singh’s BBC Radio 4 Thought for the Day

Lord Singh of Wimbledon gave the Thought for the Day on this morning’s Radio 4 Today programme. Listen here …

Upwards Arrow